Social security for third country nationals


Provisions on social security for third country nationals in the Slovak Republic are based on bilateral agreements on social security. Therefore the rules applied depend on the country of origin of the citizen.

Slovak Republic has concluded international agreements with the following territories outside the EU/EEA/Switzerland:

  • Australia, Canada, Israel, Macedonia, Quebec, Serbia, South Korea, Soviet Union (currently applied with Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan), Turkey, Ukraine, the USA and Yugoslavia (currently applied with Bosnia and Herzegovina and Montenegro)

The list of the bilateral treaties can be found on the web page of the Social Insurance Agency.

Foreign nationals with a permanent or temporary residence may contribute to the social insurance system on a voluntary basis and they may receive social benefits if needed and upon fulfilling stated conditions.

Citizens from third countries, which Slovakia does not have a signed international agreement with, have rights resulting from the social security system of Slovakia in case the person has signed a work contract with an employer permanently residing in Slovakia or in case they perform self‑employment activities in Slovakia.

Researchers without an employment contract are not entitled to any rights resulting from the social security system in Slovakia unless they are contributing to the system on a voluntary basis.