Slovakia in brief



  • Official name: the Slovak Republic
  • Capital: Bratislava (429,564 inhabitants)
  • Population: 5.4 million (out of them 51.2 % women)
  • Currency: euro (since 1 January 2009)
  • Date of establishment: 1 January 1993 (after the separation of the Czech and Slovak Federative Republic)
  • Political system: parliamentary democracy
  • Administrative organisation: 8 higher territorial units, 8 regions, 79 districts, 2,927 municipalities out of which are 140 cities and towns. Regional capitals: Bratislava, Trnava, Nitra, Trenčín, Žilina, Banská Bystrica, Prešov, Košice
  • Official language: Slovak
  • Neighbouring countries: Austria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Ukraine
  • Area: 49,035 km2
  • Density of population: 111.08/km2



See more information at the Slovakia Travel portal and at the website of the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs of the Slovak Republic




Political system and state bodies



Significant scientists born in Slovakia


Public holidays