The Slovak Republic is by tradition a religious country; the first Christian bishopric was established in the 9th century in Nitra. At present, several legal norms regulate the freedom of conscience and religion and provide a guarantee for general respect of these fundamental human rights and freedoms. According to the Slovak Constitution, "Freedom of thought, conscience, religion and belief will be guaranteed. This right will include the right to change religion or belief".


Religious Services

There are services available in foreign languages (mainly in  English, German and Hungarian) all over the country (for more information, please, consult your church).

For Bratislava, some information on church service in English is available here.


List of registered Churches in the Slovak Republic

  • Apostolic Church
  • Bahá'í Community
  • Baptist Union
  • Brethren Church
  • Central Union of Jewish Religious Communities
  • Christian Corps
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter‑day Saints
  • Czechoslovak Hussite Church
  • Evangelical Church of Augsburg Confession
  • Greek (Byzantine) Catholic Church
  • New Apostolic Church
  • Old Catholic Church
  • Orthodox Church
  • Reformed Christian Church
  • Religious Society of Jehovah's Witnesses
  • Roman Catholic Church
  • Seventh‑day Adventists Church
  • United Methodist Church