Regional and local administration


Within the launch of decentralisation as of 1 January 2002, a regional level of self‑administration was established. Slovak Republic territory is divided into 8 higher territorial units/self‑governing regions and 2,927 municipalities. No hierarchy exists between the two levels of local self‑administration (self‑governing regions and municipalities). Both of them have their own elected officials, distributed duties and liabilities. Some duties are divided between the state and the self‑administration.


Regional Administration


Local Administration

Local administration in the Slovak Republic is directed by municipalities. Every town and village has its own town hall or community office and administration headed by a mayor. Many towns and villages have their own websites where you can find useful information e.g. about local sightseeing, seats of public bodies, accommodation or current weather. Here is a sample list of the biggest towns and their websites: