Public holidays


The following days are official public holidays in Slovakia:


  • 1 January (Day of the Establishment of the Slovak Republic)

  • 6 January (Epiphany)

  • March/ April (Good Friday and Easter Monday, set according to the Catholic Calendar, check the exact dates of the respective days after arrival)

  • 1 May (Labour Day)

  • 8 May (Day of Victory over fascism – End of World War II in Europe)

  • 5 July (St. Cyril and St. Methodius Day)

  • 29 August (Slovak National Uprising Anniversary)

  • 1 September (Day of the Constitution of the Slovak Republic)

  • 15 September (Day of the Virgin Mary of the Seven Sorrows, patron saint of Slovakia- the Blessed Virgin Mary)

  • 1 November (All Saints' Day)

  • 17 November (Struggle for Freedom and Democracy Day)

  • 24 December (Christmas Eve)

  • 25 December (Christmas Day)

  • 26 December (St. Stephen's Day)


People usually do not work on these days; banks, post offices, shops, healthcare professionals consulting rooms are closed; some public transport offers a reduced service (esp. buses and trains). Only some restaurants or cafés might be opened.